Hit and Run

Hit and Run laws require drivers to do different things, for example: stopping, giving information, and helping, depending on the situation. Drivers involved in accidents must immediately stop at the scene of the accident and provide identification and other information, and aid injured persons. Depending on each case, some things are unnecessary and legally excused. This is why you should get solid advice from an experienced lawyer about your hit and run case.

Hit and Run – Property Damage – Vehicle Code  20002

The driver in an accident resulting only in damage to property, including another car, must immediately stop at the nearest location that will not impede traffic or otherwise jeopardize other motorists’ safety.

The driver must also immediately do either of the following:

(a) Locate and notify the owner or person in charge of the property of the name and current residence address of the driver and registered owner of the car, and, if requested, present her driver’s license and vehicle registration to those persons and any other driver involved in the accident. If present, the registered owner of the vehicle must also, on request, present her driver’s license or other valid identification to the other involved parties.

(b) Leave a notice in a conspicuous place on the damaged property, giving the name and address of the driver and the owner of the vehicle and a statement of the circumstances of the accident, and without unnecessary delay notify the police or, if the accident is in unincorporated territory, the California Highway Patrol.

Punishment for Hit and Run – VC 20002

A violation of Vehicle Code Section 20002(a) is a misdemeanor.

It is punishable by county jail for not more than 6 months, or a fine not exceeding $ 1,000, or both.

Hit and Run Injury or Death – Vehicle Code  20001 – Felony

The driver of a car in an accident resulting in death or injury to any person other than the driver must immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident and:

(a) Give his or her name, current residence address, the names and current residence addresses of any injured occupants of the vehicle, the registration number of the vehicle, and the name and current residence address of the owner, to the person injured, the driver or occupants of any vehicle collided with, and any traffic or police officer at the scene.

(b) Give reasonable assistance to persons injured in the accident, including transportation or making arrangements for transporting injured persons to a physician, surgeon, or hospital for medical or surgical treatment if it is apparent that treatment is necessary or if that transportation is requested by an injured person.

(c) If requested, show her driver’s license, if available.

(d) In death cases, if there is no police officer at the scene to receive the information specified by Vehicle Code Section 20003, report the accident, without delay, to the nearest office of the California Highway Patrol or police station, and submit with the report the information required by Vehicle Code Section 20003.

Punishment for Hit and Run Injury or Death

A violation of Vehicle Code Section 20001(a) is punishable by state prison or in county jail for not more than 1 year, a fine of $1,000 to $ 10,000, or both.

If the accident results in death or permanent, serious injury, the term of imprisonment is increased to 2, 3, or 4 years in state prison or 90 days to 1 year in county jail, but the prison sentence may be reduced or eliminated in the interests of justice.

If reduced to a misdemeanor, minimum 90 days to maximum 1 year in county jail and/or minimum $1,000 to maximum $10,000 fine; court may reduce or waive minimum jail term in the interests of justice. In imposing fine, court must consider your ability to pay and may reduce the minimum fine in the interests of justice.

 

Home Page  Legal Services  DMV Hearings  Attorney Reviews  Contact  Victories